Empty Spaces…

Gone – as are all our plans uprooted.
Fragile poppies now blown dispersed.
He promised me sunsets over
leafy trees, ever vivacious pink goes red.
I laid me down, skylines of drifting molten affinity
I still found breath  – violets of pride
to lie with passion, side by side.
I awoke my love to find you sleeping
no tremor from within.
My left hand traces vacant spaces
pain suffocating depleted veins.
Embers dead – past caring
empty the soul, leaving the body
cold –  stagnant white earth.
If I offered up my existence
could I  procure, your rebirth
for one parting  kiss …
Terminal regrets drown remorseful
winding rivers; as they take their course
they must.
Cold the bed – to lie my head – me
this women who you perfected.

 

Poppy 2012 ~xx~

Leave a Reply

