Innocent Child…

God does not exist – you said
for why in my innocence, would he
have left me with this.
You crushed my wings of flight
that night
fed me to myself – lost is
the child who treads in all  innocence.
With pennies from heaven I tried
to buy your words of sin; always
your price,  set far too weighty
mother you owned a heart, of cold regret.
For love was never paler, born of
deepest hate.
Inner calm became my blanket worn to
protect me from the storm.
Tiny person tumbling, turning
like a beating clock, feeble
she – waiting for the hour
for when in silence to my bower
close my eyes and remember
– close them to forget.
I could have loved you with no
questions on my back.
I wanted not my pain
avenged in bloods of rage
a sign I was yours –
you were mine.
Let me now take the bread
and turn it into wine.

2 thoughts on “Innocent Child…

  1. The imagery is haunting!

    “You crushed my wings of flight
    that night
    fed me to myself” I used to do that to women I loved. One of the main reasons for the heavy guilt that led me to what we seem to have in common.

    Like

Leave a Reply

